The 2014 AJC Australian Derby will be run on the Saturday the 12th of April and has a prize pool of $2,000,000.
Where: Randwick Racecourse
Alison Rd, Randwick, NSW, Australia

Previous Winner: It's A Dundeel

It's A Dundeel was the winner of last year AJC Australian Derby at Randwick racecourse

Previous Winners

J: H. Bowman T: D. Payne
It's A Dundeel
J: J. McDonald T: M. Baker
J: R. McLeod T: P. Carey
J: G. Boss T: D. O'Brien
Shoot Out
J: S. Katsidis T: J. Wallace
Roman Emperor
Nom De Jeu

Upcoming Feature Races

30th Aug
Caulfield Racecourse
30th Aug
Caulfield Racecourse
30th Aug
30th Aug
Rosehill Racecourse
6th Sep
Moonee Valley Racecourse
6th Sep
Moonee Valley Racecourse
6th Sep
Moonee Valley Racecourse


Fields & Results

Australian Derby 2014 results

Of $2,000,000.1st $1,200,000, 2nd $400,000, 3rd $200,000, 4th $100,000, 5th $40,000, 6th $20,000, 7th $20,000, 8th $20,000 GROUP 1
Set Weights, Three-Years-Old, Apprentices cannot claim.Track Condition: Heavy 9 Time: 2:38.49 Last 600m: 0:37.80 INTERIM RESULTS

read more

read more

ATC Australian Derby 2014 nominations

Of $2,000,000.1st $1,200,000, 2nd $400,000, 3rd $200,000, 4th $100,000, 5th $40,000, 6th $20,000, 7th $20,000, 8th $20,000 GROUP 1
Set Weights, Three-Years-Old, Apprentices cannot claim.Field Limit: 18 + 4 EM

read more

read more


ATC Australian Derby 2013 betting odds comparison

It’s A Dundeel is the $1.25 favourite across all online bookmakers with none of them willing to risk the favourite in a race that he looks the winner. Philippi has also been kept safe with $8 being the best you will find for him after winning impressively last start. All other runners you can get great value for. View the ATC Australian Derby 2013 odds comparison.

read more

read more


Australian Derby 2013 tips

This year’s running of the time-honoured classic sees ten colts and geldings lining up with It’s A Dundeel, strangling the betting at $1.25. Victorian galloper Philippi considered the only danger, if any, according to the market at $7.50.

read more

read more

About the AJC Australian Derby

The AJC Australian Derby is a prestigious Group 1 race for three year old horses, held each year at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. This event is a classic 2400 metre race and is held under set weight conditions for $1,500,000 in prize money.

The AJC Australian Derby takes place on the same day as two other Group 1 races, the TJ Smith Stakes and the AJC Sires Produce Stakes. Being the premier event for three year old horses, the AJC Australian Derby always manages to attract a high quality field.

Some of the notable horses to have won this race over the years include The Barb in 1866, Phar Lap in 1929, Peter Pan in 1932, Tulloch in 1957, Dulcify in 1979, Kingston Town in 1980, Sky Heights in 1999, Octagonal in 1996, Mahogany in 1994, Naturalism in 1992, and Durbridge in 1991.

This event is run over the classic derby distance of 2400 metres and has a history of producing some of Australia’s greatest horses. The Australian Derby has proved a good indicator event for other big name races, including the prestigious Group 1 Caulfield Cup. Second place horse in the 2010 Australian Derby, Descarado, went on to win the Caulfield Cup the following season, with Monaco Consul coming third in both races in 2009.

Some of the important lead up events for this race include the Group 1 Randwick Guineas, the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas, and the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes. In recent years, some of the winners of this event include Nom De Jeu in 2008, Roman Emperor in 2009, Shoot Out in 2010, Shamrocker in 2011, and Ethiopia in 2012.

The Australian Derby has been run since 1861, making it one of the oldest events in Australian racing. Originally a Principal Race held over a distance of 12 furlongs, this event was elevated directly to a Group 1 race in 1980. The mighty Kingston Town won the first race under Group 1 classification.

$200 Free Bet